The Red Ribbon: ‘Captivates, inspires and ultimately enriches’ Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Paperback

399.00

Captivates, inspires and ultimately enriches’ Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 Rose, Ella, Mina and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. But this was Birchwood. For fans of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients. Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival. Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose? One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud – a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

About the Author

Lucy Adlington is a writer and clothes historian. Her novels for teenagers, including The Diary of Pelly D, Burning Mountain and The Red Ribbon have been nominated and shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, the Manchester Book Prize, the Leeds Book Prize and the Rotherham Book Award. She tours the UK with dress history presentations and writes history books for adults, including Women’s Lives and Clothes in WW2: Ready for Action, and Stitches in Time: the Story of the Clothes We Wear

1 in stock

Categories: ,

Additional information

Dimensions 20 × 13 × 1.8 cm
ISBN

9781471406560

Language

English

Format

Paperback

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Red Ribbon: ‘Captivates, inspires and ultimately enriches’ Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Paperback”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *